Sigma Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa

Galveston College Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

The Sigma Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges at Galveston College, inducted 35 new members into the organization at an April 23 ceremony in the Fine Arts Building.

To be eligible for membership, students must be enrolled in an accredited institution offering an associate-degree program, have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree and have a grade-point of 3.5.
Students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa include Lakee Babineaux, Marshall Barta, Jennifer Camp, Johnathan Cardenas, Cori Darr, Jamie Evans, Karen Exley, Michele Fahringer-Baer, Kelli Fairchild, Tiffany Farris, Robert Fields, Enrique Garza, Jordan Gilson, Karina Guevara, Nicole Haas, Mackenzie Hartnett and Sherri Hildebrand.
Also, Iryna Lagrone, Adan Machuca, Paul McNatt, Karla Molina, Judy Newman, Brandi Painter, Yvette Payne, Brandi Reddin, Crystal Rendon, Claire Rodriguez, Aartie Singh, Rheana Solano, Christina Trevino, Gabriel Vega, Juan Vela, Judi Wardrup, Kevin Wei and Angela Zsembery.
Officers include Kenneth Rudd, president; Babineaux, vice president of leadership; and Oleksandra Petrenko, secretary. Advisors are Donna Swartz, program director of Medical Administration, and Nursing faculty member Jeffery Eubank.
The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. The organization provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
To view more PTK induction photos, visit the Galveston College Facebook page.