Whitecaps Baseball at Galveston College on the beach

Galveston College Whitecaps baseball opens fall play on Saturday at Wharton

Whitecaps Logo

The Galveston College baseball team will begin fall play  on Saturday, Sept. 8, at 2 p.m. when the Whitecaps take on the Wharton County Junior College Pioneers in Wharton, Texas.

Under the leadership of Coach Chris Joblin, the 2018 Whitecaps were very competitive, besting Wharton in the last game of the team’s final series to make it to the Region XIV Tournament, where the Whitecaps finished fourth overall.

During Coach Joblin’s six years at Galveston College, the Whitecaps have continued academic excellence with an impressive cumulative team GPA, over 3.0 every year. Over the course of the last six years, the Whitecaps have sent 31 players on to the NCAA Division 1 level and had seven players drafted in the MLB draft, and another player sign as a free agent.

Fall 2018 Whitecaps Baseball Schedule

Day/Date                             Opponent                                                           Location               Time

Saturday, Sept. 8              Wharton County Junior College                  Wharton, TX,      2 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 14                 Wharton County Junior College                  Houston, TX        12:30 p.m.

Blinn College                                                      Houston, TX        5:30 PM

Sunday, Sept. 16               Laredo Community College                          Houston, TX        1:30 p.m.

Alvin College                                                      Houston, TX        6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 18             Alvin College                                                      Galveston, TX    3 p.m.

Friday-Saturday, Sept. 21-Sept. 22, All-Star Weekend                      Brenham, TX      TBA

Tuesday, Sept. 25             Blinn College                                                      Galveston, TX    3 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 3          South Texas Scout Team                               Houston, TX        5:30 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 5                      Wharton County Junior College                  Sulphur, LA         1:30 p.m.
Delgado Community College                       Sulphur, LA         4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 6                Bossier Parish Community College            Sulphur, LA         10:30AM

LSU-Alexandria                                                 Sulphur, LA         4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 9                  San Jacinto College                                          Houston, TX        4 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 13              Coastal Bend College                                      Beeville, TX         2 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 19                   Blinn College                                                      Brenham, TX      3 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 23               Alvin College                                                      Alvin, TX               1 p.m.

Saturday-Sunday, Oct. 27-Oct. 28, Texas Scout Association Tournament, Austin, TX, TBA

Saturday, Nov. 3               Coastal Bend College                                      Galveston, TX    2 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 6 San Jacinto College                                                          Galveston, TX    4 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 10             Wharton County Junior College                  Galveston, TX    2 p.m.