Galveston College celebrated its employees for their service and performance on May 5, 2023 during the college’s annual award ceremony at the Seibel Wing.


Seven faculty and staff members were selected among 110 nominations for Employee Performance Awards in four categories: Professional/Technical, Adjunct, Classified and Faculty.


The Employee Performance Award winners were:

  • Professional/Technical: Assistant Director of Admissions & Records, Andrea Wiste.
  • Adjunct: Adjunct Government Instructor James Gaddy.
  • Classified: Maintenance Technician Anthony Sanabria, Administrative Assistant JoAnn Palomo and Human Resources Payroll/Benefits Specialist Joyce Landry.
  • Faculty: Science and Business Division Director and Chemistry Professor, Ana Sanchez, Ph.D., and Communications Program Coordinator and Speech Professor, Janene Davison, Ph.D.


Service awards were presented for faculty and staff who have served GC for 5, 10, 15, 25, 35 and 45 years.


Five Years:

  • Jay Castillo
  • Trish Himebaugh
  • Sandra Metoyer, Ph.D.
  • Van Patterson, Ed.D.
  • Jaime Retiz
  • Rosie Rios
  • Bart Stephenson


Ten Years:

  • Deon Botha
  • Laimutis Bytautas, Ph.D.
  • Jeffrey Eubank
  • Fred Khoury
  • Fred Raschke
  • Patty Reyes
  • Elvia Segura
  • Jason Smith
  • Donna Swartz


Fifteen Years:

  • Larry Blomstedt, Ph.D.
  • Laura Clouser
  • Brenda Reeves


Twenty-Five Years:

  • Maria Garcia
  • Polly Martin


Thirty-Five Years:

  • Michael Berberich
  • Jose Ortiz


Forty-Five Years:

  • John Rimar



  • Judy Hembd (Jan. 2023)
  • Carmen Mendez (Aug. 2022)



Galveston College was founded in 1967 and is a comprehensive community college providing the residents of Galveston Island and the surrounding region with academic, workforce development, continuing education and community service programs.