The Galveston Community College District Board of Regents administered the oath of office to three newly elected board members on June 8 during the regular meeting of the Board of Regents.

The new regents sworn into office are Carolyn L. Sunseri, Position 6, Norman S. Hoffman, Position 7 and Garrik Addison, Position 8. Armin Cantini, who was re-elected to Position 9, will take the oath of office at a later date.

All four board members were elected to the Galveston Community College District Board of Regents on May 7. Hoffman, Addison and Cantini will serve six-year terms through May 2028. Sunseri will serve the unexpired term of Position 6 left vacant by her father and longtime Regent Carroll G. Sunseri, who passed away in December 2021. The unexpired term runs through May 2026.

“We congratulate and welcome our newly elected board members to Galveston College,” said Galveston College President W. Myles Shelton. “Galveston College and the Board of Regents are looking forward to collaborating with our new regents to continue to provide and expand educational opportunities for the communities we serve.”

The newly elected regents join current members Mary R. Longoria, Position 1, Fred D. Raschke, Position 2, Karen F. Flowers, Position 3, Raymond Lewis Jr., Position 4 and Michael B. Hughes, Position 5.

During the meeting, the board voted unanimously to retain Flowers as chairperson, Raschke as vice chairperson, and Hughes as secretary for the 2022-2024 term.

In other business, the board adopted a resolution granting a residence homestead tax exemption on the first $5,000 or 20 percent of value, whichever is greater, for the 2022 tax year.